Skip to content

Jorrit Biesheuvel


AED360’s roots go back to 2008, when Jorrit Biesheuvel founded ProCardio in The Netherlands. An important choice was to go for Philips single brand.

After thorough market and product research, it was obvious to Jorrit that Philips had (and still has) the best AED product offering in the market. A Philips AED is the easiest to use of all and the most reliable of all. Two critical features if it comes to saving lives: a Philips AED simply will save more lives than any other AED.

Another choice was to focus on BLS, pre-hospital markets only, to focus on volume distribution sales. These choices resulted in a clear focus and this has worked out well. Within 10 years, in the Netherlands, the market share for Philips AEDs soared from 8% to 40%.

AED360-ProCardio now is the leading AED Distributor for Philips in the Netherlands. The crowdfunding project   (initiative of Philips and the Dutch Heart Foundation) has placed thousands of Philips AEDs in Dutch neighbourhoods: the Netherlands is more heart safe now than ever before.

In 2018, Peter Houtzagers joined the company and founded AED360. AED360’s objective is to reduce the number of death from SCA (Sudden Cardiac Arrest) in Europe. Every year, over 500.000 people in Europe pass away from SCA. By 2030, we have defined an objective for the AED industry: to save 350.000 lives every year, and for AED360-ProCardio, to save 65.000 lives every year. This is to be achieved by placing Philips AEDs in Europe, in large volumes, using a wide and diverse AED distribution partner network – high-quality-on-going basis.

The business model is, simply put, to copy the Dutch success formula in several other European countries. this is planned and rolled out in close cooperation and communication with Philips in the relevant countries.

The first country AED360-ProCardio was granted an Authorised Distributorship for Philips AEDs was the United Kingdom. Followed by the Nordics (Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland) in 2020 and DACH (Germany, Switzerland and Austria) in 2021.